Ponder This

August 26, 2015

Addiction Through a Child’s Eyes

Filed under: Living a Healthy Lifestyle — by ReidmillerWrites @ 9:28
Tags:

There are more people drinking and using drugs that have children than those who do not. The horrific consequences of addiction for the user is life threatening to their health and devastating for their families, especially their children.

In this series, I am writing about addiction from a child’s perspective:

I am a little girl and my Daddy drinks. He smells bad when he comes home late from work. Tonight I didn’t see him before it was my bedtime. I was asleep when I heard screaming. I ran to the kitchen to see Daddy hitting Momma. She screams for me to go back to bed. I’m not sure how she thinks I am going to be able to sleep. I’m crying and I pull the pillow over my ear so I don’t hear the noise.

The next thing I know Momma is waking me for school. I see bruises on her face and arms. She forgot to put her robe on like she usually does. She is acting funny, talking fast and trying to make me laugh, but I don’t. How can I when Daddy hits Momma?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

