Ponder This

August 25, 2015

Talk to Strangers

Ok I’ll be honest. Until January of this year I never read fiction. I was afraid it would interfere with my non fiction writing, which includes researching topics and writing articles as well as my creative non fiction writing.

I struck up a conversation with a stranger and somehow we started talking about movies. I told her I saw the Hunger Games, but didn’t like it. She told me I should read the book, it is better than the movie.

That’s all it took for me to fall in love with sci-fi. I’ve read the Hunger Games trilogy, the Maze Runner trilogy, and on and on. My last round of reading has been The Ender Games.

I love to read sci-fi, but I’m still not ready to write fiction but I’m not going to stop reading this genre.

Why do I tell all of this? This stranger in an elevator conversation of about one minute changed my frame of thinking and my mode of entertainment for the last five months.

This isn’t life altering or some spiritual conversation, but it does show the impact of a stranger. I could have been someone in need of something deeper and that conversation may have been different and it could have been life altering.

Say hello to others in the elevator. You never know what it will bring you and it can’t hurt!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

